User Tools

Site Tools


public:t-701-rem4:rem4-main

2006 course notes | 2007 course notes | Student paper topics

T-701-REM4-08-3 Research Methodology / Aðferðafræði Rannsókna

This is the main page for REM4-08-3

FINAL EXAM: 12.12.2008, 14:00-17:00, T-701-REM4, O-401 Lecture Hall

Instructors: Kristinn R. Þórisson (KRÞ), Guðný R. Jónsdóttir (GRJ), Björn Þór Jónsson (BÞJ)
Classroom: K-3
Books:

  • Research Methodology (“RM”), Ranjit Kumar - all chapters except Ch9 and Ch18. Emphasis on those listed in the table below.
  • Introductory Readings in the Philosophy of Science (“IRPS”). E.D.Klemke, R. Hollinger, D. W. Rudge and A. D. Kline (Eds.). - Selected chapters (see below).

NB: For all homework sent via email: PLEASE PUT “REM4” SOMEWHERE (anywhere) IN THE TITLE OF YOUR EMAIL, SO IT GETS CLASSIFIED CORRECTLY IN THE TEACHER'S INBOX. Thanks.

Exam

There will be a 3-hour written final exam. The topics it will cover are: Experimental designs, Statistics and Philosophy of Science, in the proportions of which these have been emphasized in the lectures.

Classes

DateTimeWhoTopicMaterialAssignmentDue
Mon 25.08.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Course overview Course Overview P1. Pick topic for your paper 01.09
Wed 27.08.2008 15:30 - 17:05 KRÞ Writing Papers: Abstracts & Introductions RM:Ch17
Writing papers
Abstracts
Introductions
How to have your abstract rejected
P2a. Good/Bad Abstract (pass/fail)
p2b. Write an Abstract I (pass/fail)
08.09
W2
Mon 01.09.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Writing Papers: Related Work, Refs
Review:P1
Related Work, References (5%) P3. Write an Abstract for your topic (5%)
P4. Find paper to use as a template for your own
15.09
Wed 03.09.2008 15:30 - 17:05 BÞJ Using LateX for writing scientific papers LateX
W3
Mon 08.09.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Review:P2a, P2b Philosophy of Science I
IRPS:pp.19-37
P5. Introduction (5%) 22.09
Wed 10.09.2008 15:30 - 17:05 GRJ Thesis Writing Slides
RM:Ch. 17
W4
Mon 15.09.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ No Class
Wed 17.09.2008 15:30 - 17:05 KRÞ Experimental Design
Review:P3
Experimental Designs I
RM:Chs. 7,8
P6. Related Work and References (5%) 29.09
W5
Mon 22.09.2008 14:40 - 17:05 GRJ LaTeX Slides
Wed 24.09.2008 15:30 - 17:05 GRJ LaTeX - hands-on
Review:P5
W6
Mon 29.09.2008 14:40 - 17:05 GRJ Graphing and data presentation MR:Chs. 15,16
Wed 01.10.2008 15:30 - 17:05 GRJ Review:P6
W7
Mon 06.10.2008 14:40 - 17:05 - Reading Week - No Classes - - -
Wed 08.10.2008 15:30 - 17:05 - Reading Week - No Classes - - -
W8
Mon 13.10.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Experimental Designs
Review:P6. Related Work & References
Experimental Designs II P7. Contribution, Results (5%) 20.10
Wed 15.10.2008 15:30 - 17:05 KRÞ Stats: T-test and linear models T-Tests and Linear Models
W9
Mon 20.10.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ - no class -
Wed 22.10.2008 15:30 - 17:05 Stats: T-test and linear models (cont.)
Philosophy of Science
T-Tests and Linear Models
Philosophy of Science II
IRPS:pp.38-65
W10
Mon 27.10.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Research Environment:Grants & Authorship
Review:P7
Research Environments P8. Conclusions (5%) 03.11
Wed 29.10.2008 15:30 - 17:05 KRÞ Scales and data display Scales & Display of Data
MR:Ch.5,16
W11
Mon 03.11.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Reviewing Scientific Papers Reviewing Scientific Papers P9. Full paper (5%) 10.11
Wed 05.11.2008 15:30 - 17:05 GRJ Presenting Your Work
W12
Mon 10.11.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ - no class -
Wed 12.11.2008 15:30 - 17:05 GRJ Science Ethics
Student Review of Full Paper
Science Ethics P10. Final Full Paper (15%) 24.11
W13
Mon 17.11.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Teacher's Review of Full Papers student presentations 19.11
Wed 19.11.2008 15:30 - 17:05 KRÞ Student Paper Presentations
W14
Mon 24.11.2008 14:40 - 17:05 KRÞ Student Paper Presentations
Wed 26.11.2008 15:30 - 17:05 KRÞ Philosophy of Science IRPS:Chs. 17,18,19,20
Philosophy of Science III
/var/www/ailab/WWW/wiki/data/pages/public/t-701-rem4/rem4-main.txt · Last modified: 2008/11/26 14:41 by thorisson