User Tools

Site Tools


public:i-700-abms-08-1:main

CADIA Main Page

I-700-ABMS, Agent-Based Modeling & Simluation, 2008-1

Instructor: Kristinn R. Thórisson
Teaching Assistant: Guðný R. Jónsdóttir
Technology: Guðný R. Jónsdóttir, Eric Nivel
12 Units, full Master's-level course
Classroom: K4

LINKS: Readings | Prior Student Reports | Assignments

Description

This course provides students with theoretical and hands-on training in concepts of emergence and agent-based modeling techniques. Such techniques are increasingly being used to understand activities and information flow in systems where goal-driven elements are mixed with other types of causal relationships – systems such as social organizations, economies and the animal and human mind. Students will learn the basics of this advanced modeling approach and will gain experience in applying it in prototype systems.

Being a methodology course, the material covered includes numerous useful concepts and techniques from artificial intelligence and engineering that are generally applicable to modeling multi-layered, real-world systems; students interested in acquiring general-purpose skills for studying and simulating complex phenomena should find this an extremely valuable course, as should those interested in learning new approaches to understanding human thought and knowledge representation.

Prerequisites
  1. Programming experience necessary, proficiency in Java and/or C++
  2. A prior introductory class in one or more of the following is recommended: Artificial intelligence, Economic organization and business models, Simulation techniques, Complexity
Evaluation
  • Final Project (50%); Mini-Projects (20%); Written Exam (20%); Class Participation (10%) = 100%

Outline

January

Tue Jan 08: Introduction to course | KRTh


Thu Jan 10: No Class



W2

Tue Jan 15: Introduction to CDM & Psyclone | KRTh


Thu Jan 14: Software Architecture | KRTh



W3

Tue Jan 22: Overivew of CDM | KRTh


Thu Jan 24: Introduction to Emergence | KRTh



W4

Tue Jan 29: Knowledge and Learning | KRTh


Thu Jan 31: Basic Principles of Economics | RJS



February

Tue Feb 05: Introduction to the RJS-KRTh innovation simulation model | KRTh, GRJ

  • Emergence Mini-Project presentation
    • ABMS exploration: Modules, monitoring, distributed setup
  • READINGS:


Thu Feb 07: Current ABMS model - overview | KRTh, GRJ



W6

Tue Feb 12: LAB | KRTh,GRJ

  • Scaling Mini-Project presentation
  • ABMS exploration: Modules, monitoring, distributed setup


Thu Feb 14: Final Project overview / Creation of tasks / Experiment w/current model | KRTh, GRJ



W7

Tue Feb 19: LAB: Design Session - Following CDM-S | KRTh, GRJ


Thu Feb 21: LAB: Design Session - Following CDM-S | KRTh, GRJ

  • Definition of version 1.0
  • Task assignments: Division of labor for model implementation and evaluation of version 1.0



W8

Tue Feb 26: LAB - Version 1.0 implementation | GRJ


Thu Feb 28: LAB - Version 1.0 implementation | GRJ



March

Tue Mar 04: LAB - Version 1.0 implementation | KRTh, GRJ


Thu Mar 06: Integration Session 1 | KRTh, GRJ



W10

Tue Mar 11: LAB - Version 2.0 design | GRJ, KRTh


Thu Mar 13: LAB - Version 2.0 implementation | KRTh, GRJ



W11

Tue Mar 18: Integration Session 2 | KRTh


Thu Mar 20: Easter holiday



W12

Tue Mar 25: Easter holiday


Thu Mar 27: LAB - Version 2.0 implementation cleanup / prep for writeup | KRTh, GRJ


W13

Tue Apr 1: LAB - Version 2.0 implementation cleanup / prep for writeup | KRTh, GRJ


Thu Apr 3: Final integration session / Discussion and reflection on course | KRTh, GRJ


/var/www/ailab/WWW/wiki/data/pages/public/i-700-abms-08-1/main.txt · Last modified: 2008/03/11 15:31 by thorisson